Before going to the treaty education workshop last week, I must say that the idea of teaching treaty education was somewhat of a daunting one. However, by the end of the second day I found myself thinking that teaching treaty education is not as difficult as I thought it would be and that it is something I look forward to teaching and learning about.

During the time that we spent with Noel, I would have to say the atmosphere, to me, felt heavy – but not a bad heavy. Noel cast a deep feeling of courage and perseverance while he told his story. This in turn, gripped our attention as we listened intently and the emotions started to sweep over us. One of the most important lessons I learnt from Noel is one of forgiveness. We must stop focussing on the wrongs that were done and start finding ways to move on and mend the bonds that were broken. We, as educators, have the power to induce change though the students we will teach.

While listening to Lynda’s experiences on the second day, the atmosphere was quite contrasting. Unlike most stories about residential schools, her story was a positive one. She told us about the funny things that happened and that she was glad she went through it because it made her who she is today. The knowledge that I gained through her stories aligns quite nicely with how I feel about unfortunate situations. One of my favourite sayings is weeping may endure for a night, but joy shall come in the morning. I think that is a good lesson to have in life. No matter how tough things are getting keep plugging through and you will eventually find a resolution. Everything we experience will shape us, but how it shapes us is our decision.

Overall, the treaty education workshop was a rewarding experience. It left me feeling a little more comfortable with the topic but still wanting to learn more. I am also glad to know more about the resources that are available. Those will help me make sure my lessons are meaningful. I definitely look forward to learning more about this area and teaching it.

