And that’s a wrap! Wow, it is amazing how fast these three weeks have flown by. It can’t believe that my time in the classroom for this year is done, but I guess when you are busy and having fun, time does fly!

Thinking back on how my unit has gone, I can’t say how fortunate I was to be placed with this class. As I mentioned in my earlier post, we were learning about HIV and Hepatitis C. I found it quite astounding as to where the class is at with their maturity level. When preparing to teach this unit, I was a little apprehensive because of the potential that is has for being slightly awkward. However, to my relief, there was not one moment where I felt this was happening.

One of my favorite lesson activities, the students’ too, was the fluid exchange game. For this game, students were able to “exchange body fluids.” This happens when they dump all of the liquid in their cup into another person’s cup of liquid and that person dumps half of it back into the original cup. Each person does this with three other people. It is then revealed that three of the twenty four people are infected with HIV or Hepatitis C to start with. A drop of indicator is dropped into each student’s cup and now 2/3 to ¾ of the class is infected.

The students were shocked by this. Up to this point, I don’t think they realized how quickly an infectious disease could spread. An interesting comment that I heard while doing this lesson was “Oh, exchanging body fluids with three other people doesn’t sound so romantic now!” This is a lesson that I am sure will stick with them as they continue to learn about health and the decisions they make both inside and outside of school.

During my time in the classroom, I also found a lot of enjoyment on the assessment side of things. I love to see growth as I teach. This lets me know that what I am doing is actually working. To start my unit, I did a plickers quiz with questions about things the students
IMG_20160403_121118496would learn during the unit. As expected, the class results were quite low. However, when I did the quiz again at the end of the unit, the results grew tremendously. A majority of the class had gone from a fifty average to an eighty average. I had a pretty good idea that this was going to happen based on how the unit was going, but it was great to actually compare the results from the two quizzes

As a final send-off, the class and Mrs. Zanni planned a going away party for Mr. Leupold and myself. We both received large personalized cards signed by the students and got to visit with the class in a less formal setting. We even had donuts too! The whole three weeks was a marvelous time and I can’t wait until internship!

