Prior to coming to university, I would say that I wasn’t really a twitter guy. If I compare where I was when I created my account to where I am now, I learned a little bit but still have a ways to go. I had originally started using twitter when I was in my first semester of university because the professor wanted to share things with us. The funny part is, as I am writing this, I realize that I never did end up following him and I remained an egg until about my third year when I was introduced to #saskedchat in ECS 311. However, I guess there was a time somewhere in there that I did play around on twitter and started following a couple actors from one of my favorite T.V. shows. This was when I was found out that it was going to be canceled 😡 . Now, I am making an attempt at learning to use it for my advantage in education. It is coming slowly, but surely!

In terms of Twitter in a school setting, I have seen several ways that it has been used effectively. One is that the school where I interned at uses it as a hub where the community can keep up with what is going on in the school. It also lets me see what my students are up to too! I have also seen it used as a classroom account for similar reasons where the teacher was able to communicate to the parents what the students were doing and learning or about future events. bell-lets-talkAs well, I totally agree with what we are learning in class, that Twitter is a great way to form professional learning communities and gather resources. This is something that I have been working hard on and thinking a lot about lately. I must say I was pretty excited when I saw that the Deputy Director of Education from the Chinook School Division followed me back! Its a small step, but at least it is in the right direction! I also find that using Twitter can be used to show support for others while acting as an avenue for creating good discussion in the classroom. An example of this would be @Bell_LetsTalk  and bringing in mental health awareness. You could also use it in Social Studies to talk about current events and discuss points of view and biases in ELA.

There are MANY ways that Twitter can be incorporated into teaching and learning. I can’t say I know a whole lot about using Twitter, but I definitely see its potential for enhancing classroom experiences!

Follow me on Twitter! @BradSlepicka

