Now that I have done some thinking around the results in my last post, It’s a Setup, I feel that there is one part I need to talk more about in terms of my research and what I actually learned from experimenting.

When I did the research on the best wood for staining and stain products/techniques, I found out that white oak with wood conditioner would result in the most even stain. This was according to the webpage Minwax – How to Stain Interior Wood. Their information was totally accurate in all aspects – types of wood, the desired characteristics for even stain absorption, types of stain products, and stain application. However, this information, in an sense, sets me up for something that I don’t necessarily want – having a whole piece of wood that is stained evenly. That is not exactly what I am looking for.

What they are talking about is in terms of staining a floor, a table top, or baseboards. Here is a clip from This Old House (1:29) that illustrates the effect of wood conditioner when trying to get a whole piece of wood to stain one color evenly.

That is basic woodworking technique. However, what I realized is that I actually have to combine both woodworking and artistic techniques/aspects to achieve my desired results. This includes selecting the proper media –  wood and stain –  as well as application methods.

So now, this is why I think my findings and my wood and stain selection conflict with what the Minwax resource was saying. I believe that the soft wood spruce/pine, which does not stain evenly, combined with the wood conditioner, which helps with even staining, allows for a little bit of both worlds. Hopefully these findings translate well to creating an actual design!

