Well, it has taken me a little while to write this post about my digital identity as a teacher and I think that there is only one reason for this. I don’t really think that I have much of a digital identity in terms of who I am as a teacher at this point of my career, but it is developing! I guess part the problem is that I am comparing myself to people that have a massive digital presence. Two of these people would be ones like our ECMP prof Katia Hildebrandt and our guest speaker Dr. Alec Couros. In Alec’s case his identity even supersedes him and people use it regularly as their own online identity. However for me, my teaching identity really only exists on this blog and recently a little bit on twitter – both which I doubt very many people actually look at. Nevertheless, by looking in these two places, someone would be able to get a taste of who I am as a teacher.

On my blog I give an introduction to myself and my teaching experiences. This includes my experiences as a university student, music teacher, dance instructor, and summer tutor. Also, I have included my philosophy, I believe statements, and some lesson/unit plans. All of these speak to who I am as a teacher and how I see myself within the education system. Twitter, however, still does not say much about the teaching aspect of my life. It, for the most part, gives a few ideas of possible ways to use technology in the classroom and a couple retweets about assessment that I really agree with. Other than that, my teaching identity does not have that big of a place online.

Looking from a different perspective, a  different part of my identity does exist on the internet a little more than I realized. What I do see most of when I search for myself on the internet is my identity as a musician. A majority of the things that I find about me are news articles or websites that talk about me entertaining somewhere or advertising that I will be entertaining at an event in the future. There are also a lot more images of me doing something musical. Music has been a huge part of my life for some time now; so that, I think, would be the reason why that side of me is a lot more accessible online. Even though my musical identity prevails over my teaching identity online at this point in time, it by no means portrays a negative image of who I am and I am sure that down the road it will be a valuable asset to have in the field of education!

Featured Image Photo Credit:  Fingerprint from Flickr by CPOA

