Hey guys! Well I think it’s that time again! I must say if I thought my fingers hurt the last time I put together a blog post for my guitar learning project, I was completely wrong! This go around I tired doing something a little different – doing two parts all at once, one part at a time.

I am sure that after reading that, you are probably wondering what the heck I am talking about. Well… what I am talking about is playing both the rhythm and the lead for this song. I obviously can’t do both at the same time, but I do have the technology to make it sound that way! h2n_inputs-outputs_2What amazes me, though, is how simple it is to set up a mini recording studio, in your own bedroom at that, and still get a pretty decent sounding recording. Audacity is pretty much my go-to recording program, but I know that there are other good ones out there as well.  From my experience, however, getting a good sound really is a result of the quality of microphone you use. If you use a crappy mic, you are going to get a crappy sound. So before I even started to think about pressing the record button, I plugged in my Zoom H2n recorder. This little machine is one of the best investments I’ve made in terms of music equipment. It works both as an individual recorder and as an external mic. Just to give you an idea of how mic quality changes things, I’ve put together a short recording using my laptop’s mic and my Zoom recorder. Keep in mind, I have not changed anything other than the mic, so no effects were used. You tell me if you can hear a difference…

Alright, now that I had that all set up, I grabbed my guitar and started to record myself playing the lead. I have been playing this song for a few weeks now so it should be simple right? Well, I don’t really think that was the case…

Thinking I had the melody line pinned down, I set out to learn the chords to play rhythm guitar. Just by listening to the song, I knew that I was going to have to learn some chords that I didn’t know. Not a big deal. However, I didn’t realize how knotted up my fingers would have to get in order to get a couple of these chords. Like I mentioned in a previous post, The Charm of Maria Elena, I really only knew how to play some basic major chords. So after about a couple hours of messing around I had some new chords to add to my collection – (capo on 2) Bm, Dm, C#,  and F#m – and went to play along with my recording of the melody. To my surprise I couldn’t.

My timing was horrible, like absolutely horrendous! It’s not that I lost the tempo, as I did play with a metronome. It was more due to the fact I wasn’t starting or ending my phrases at the correct time. I kind of had a hunch that this would happen slightly, but not this bad. So out the window went that recording!  But now, I needed something to play along with and that would keep everything steady.

What I ended up doing was recording my backup track while playing along with the melody on Tab Pro. After, I recorded the melody over top. As well, this is a shortened version of the song. Although, it sounds like I finished it, I did skip a part. That’s yet to come 🙂 I think it turned out not too bad, even though it is still a work in progress – have a listen!

Featured Image Photo Credit: barnimages.com Flickr via Compfight cc

